eHarmony offers Free Communication this Labour Day Weekend

General News
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 6,533

eHarmony in both the United States and Canada will be offering free communication this Labor Day weekend (or as the Canadians like to spell it, Labour Day). This 4 day free event begins at 12:01 AM on Friday, Sept. 3rd, 2010 and ends at 11:59 PM on Monday, Sept. 6th, 2010.

Free communication weekends (FCW) at eHarmony allow all free members to not only take the relationship questionnaire and receive matches for free, but they have the chance to communicate with their highly targeted matches as well. This is all at no cost to you and with no credit card required. I have already seen a number of TV commercials advertising this FCW so you can expect eHarmony to be extra busy this long holiday weekend. Viewing of members profile pictures and Fasttracking the guided communication process is not included in the FCW events.

By our count this will be eHarmony's 28th free event. The last eHarmony free communication weekend occurred in July (see Story).

Update #1: Australia Flag It looks like singles in Australia are not being left out. eHarmony Australia is having free communication this weekend as well.

Check out our review of eHarmony for more information on the popular online match making service.

Chemistry's FREE this August Weekend

Chemistry.com
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 6,126

Opps, we missed this Chemistry free weekend by a day. Still, it is not too late to give them a try since the free communication weekend ends Sunday, August 22, 2010 at midnight. What does a free communication weekend give you at Chemistry.com you may ask? Well, a new member will be able to create a profile, take the personality test, receive matches and communicate with those matches, all at no cost and with no credit card required. You receive most features that a paid member at Chemistry would.

The last Chemistry free communication weekend was during the same weekend in July (see Story). This type of promotion is the ninth time Chemistry has run one. To find out more information on this popular dating service which delivers highly targeted matches based on your personality, read our Chemistry.com review.

542 eHarmony Members Marry Every Day

eHarmony
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 7,359

eHarmony commissioned a new marriage metrics study from Harris Interactive in 2009. They have released the statistics from the study this week in part to celebrate their 10 year anniversary. The last Harris Interactive study done for eHarmony was in 2007 (see Story); it concluded that 236 eHarmony users get married every day. This was based on data from April 1, 2006 to March 31, 2007. So, it has been about 3 years since this statistics has been updated. Let's see what Harris Interactive found out.

What they found was that the number of marriages per day resulting from eHarmony has doubled. On average, 542 people are married every day in the United States because of meeting online at eHarmony. Wow, this means there will be another 271 happy couples who married today, thanks to using the dating site eHarmony. This new data came from an online study from Harris Interactive which they ran during July and August of 2009. 7,994 people responded to this study, aged from 20 to 54 and who were married between Jan 1, 2008 and June 30, 2009. If you calculate it out, during this 18 month period, 148,311 eHarmony couples got married. This equals to 4.77 percent of all new marriages in the United States.

For more on this story you can read the 2009 summary of the eHarmony Marriage Metrics Study. For more about this dating site and how it matches members together, read our popular eHarmony review.

eHarmony iPhone Application is Here

eHarmony
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 6,673
For those of you waiting, eHarmony has finally released their free iPhone Dating App today (on the day the eHarmony turns 10 no less). The App also works on the iPod Touch and the new iPad as well. Our quick test found the App fast and responsive. eHarmony users on the iPhone (without using Safari) can now view new and existing matches, communicate with them through the guided process and mail, and modify your photos. Free eHarmony members can also subscribe through the App as well.

One question I have is, I wonder if they will open up communication on the iPhone App during eHarmony's free communication weekends? They probably will but I guess we will just have to wait and see. I expect the next free communication weekend to happen in 2 weeks.

To try out the new Dating App, visit iTunes and to find out more about this dating site, check out our eHarmony review.

Plenty of Fish is Down - August 9, 2010

POF (Plenty of Fish)
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 24,722

I have just started to see some visitor comments being submitted that the free online dating site Plenty of Fish is offline. POF looks to have been experiencing problems for the last couple of hours. The message that now appears when you visit the site is "The service is unavailable". Other visitors have reported seeing Memory errors which looks like it had when POF tried to send some email. Memory errors usually are caused by either faulty software or hardware. I would put my money on this being a hardware problem as I am sure any software used by the dating site is thoroughly tested before going live.

The last time we recorded Plenty Of Fish down was in May and like in other incidents the servers are usually back up and running properly in 5 to 10 hours.

We will update this post when we get more information.

Dating Sites Reviews Welcomes Elyse

About Us
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 4,682
Dating Sites Reviews would like to welcome our new Blogger, Elyse, to our website. She is a dating coach from New York and enjoys studying how attraction works as well as what is needed to create a successful relationship. Elyse will be contributing regularly to our Dating Advice and Tips topics bringing her expert knowledge to bear.

You can already find some of Elyse's dating articles online now which you can find available here.

If you have a dating or relationship question, or topic, for Elyse to cover in a future article you can contact her here. For more information on Elyse you can read her Bio page.