Topics

Quick Search

Search for dating sites that match your needs.

I am:

I live in:

Looking for:

Between the age:

User Functions


Welcome to Dating Sites Reviews Wednesday, October 22 2014 @ 02:19 AM

Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)

Try Perfectmatch.com 3-days Free

PerfectMatch.com Review

Average: • 2.4 / 5 (by 33 Users) for PerfectMatch.com   view button add button

Sign up now to see why PerfectMatch is one of the fastest growing dating sites on the Web. PerfectMatch is the brainchild of Dr. Pepper Schwartz, a professor of Sociology at the University of Washington. Dr. Schwartz is a graduate of Washington University in St. Louis, where she earned a B.A. and an M.A., as well as a graduate of Yale University, where she earned an M.A. and Ph.D in Sociology. She is the author of 15 books, including Finding Your Perfect Match and The Love Test, a contributor to notable publications like The New York Times, and a regular guest on television shows like "Oprah," "Good Morning America," and "Dr. Phil."

Add it all together, and you’ve got an expert who is more than qualified to create a dating service with a thoughtful and effective matching system. PerfectMatch uses the Duet Total Compatibility System, the result of over 30 years of research by Dr. Schwartz, to pair singles with compatible matches. Duet identifies your traits through a series of questions and uses them to determine your romantic compatibility type. Once your type has been identified, PerfectMatch suggests ideal matches for your type – but unlike other prominent sites with matching systems, PerfectMatch users are free to accept the site’s matches or perform their own searches.

PerfectMatch.com has made a big splash in the entertainment world. The site was featured on “Dr. Phil,” in an appearance that inspired 50,000 women to join up. PerfectMatch has also appeared on “Live with Regis and Kelly,” where it was the exclusive online partner of an intensive two-week search for love for one of the show’s producers, and on the popular television hit, “Dancing with the Stars.” On the big screen, PerfectMatch has made appearances in major motion pictures like “Must Love Dogs,” “Failure to Launch,” and “Paul Blart:Mall Cop.”

Here on Dating Sites Reviews, PerfectMatch has also made a splash. Users voted for the site as their 2007 Top Pick in the “Match System” category and their 2010 Top Pick in the “Innovative” category.

PerfectMatch’s success is all down to the Duet Total Compatibility System. After registering for the site, new users respond to a battery of eight pages of true or false questions. The eight elements of Duet compatibility are:Romantic Impulsivity, Personal Energy, Outlook, Predictability, Flexibility, Decision Making Style, Emotionality, and Self-Nurturing. When the questions are complete, an analysis inspired by the Myers Briggs Type Indicator is provided, along with information about which personality types are most compatible with yours.

For even more targeted match results, members have the option of taking additional tests and responding to more personal essay questions. Further assessments include the Core Values test, the Love and Money test, and the Lovestyle test. Other multiple choice questions provide more detailed personal information on subjects like children and family, spending habits, political views, and religious practices, and essay questions cover topics like accomplishments, passions, and dating preferences.

Matches can be tracked under the “Perfect Matches” tab on your homepage. Pages show who you’re interested in and who’s interested in you, and keep track of all your current interactions with other singles. It’s a one-stop-shop to review all your activity on the site.

Another unique element of PerfectMatch.com is the Dating On Demand feature. PerfectMatch partners with Comcast Digital Cable and Cox Cable to offer complete video dating profiles. Members are invited to attend free dating events where Dating On Demand professional production crews shoot, edit, and produce 2-5 minute matchmaking videos…all for free. Video dating profiles are available for viewing on PerfectMatch and on the Dating On Demand service in your local area.

Is your perfect match out there? Join PerfectMatch.com and find out!

Current Promotions

Awards

Past
2010 Dating Sites Reviews Choice Awards - Innovative 2007 Dating Sites Reviews Choice Awards - Match System
Note:See this page for a full list of past awards

Positive Features of PerfectMatch.com

  • PerfectMatch Match Guarantee is available for paid memberships greater than one month. If a certain number of matches is not sent to you, depending on membership length, then PerfectMatch will extend your membership at no cost to you
  • Platinum Membership allows all members, both free and paid, to contact you
  • Detailed personality profile – the personality profile may take time to fill out, but doing so will ease the process of finding a match with PerfectMatch.com's Duet Compatibility System. This system will show you potential matches first, with no need to search their large database of members unless you want to
  • Oriented towards forming long-term relationships
  • Easy-to-use Perfect Matches section helps you keep track of your matches and communications

Negative Features of PerfectMatch.com

  • Lengthy personality profile to fill out (15 minutes or more). This site is not for someone who expects to be searching for singles within five minutes
  • Many questions in the personality tests allow you to select only a limited number of options
  • No instant messaging

At a Glance

Address:
PerfectMatch.com
Regions:
United States, Canada
Languages:
English
Member Numbers:
5,000,000
Cost per Month:
From $33.33 / month
Membership Types:
Free - Basic
Paid

Related Categories

Million Plus Members
Popular Match Systems
Professional Dating
2007 Awards
2010 Awards

PerfectMatch.com Free Membership

  • Yes (2 months)
  • Included:
    • Registration
      • Email address, member name, password, postal code, country
    • Create a profile (four steps)
      • About Me is your public face on PerfectMatch.com and is the first step in creating your profile
        • First name, date of birth, relationship status (single, divorced, widowed) and location
        • Seeking relationship with man or woman and age range
        • Occupation
        • Income
        • Appearance:eye/hair color, height, body type
        • Ethnicity
        • Languages you speak
      • DealBreakers - Prospective couples need to make sure they are in sync on important lifestyle choices. While you could be just right for each other as personalities, this DealBreaker section allows you to identify qualities and personal choices that will satisfy both you and your partner
        • I don’t believe I would be compatible with someone who possesses the following qualities… (e.g. homebody, sports fanatic, talkative, workaholic)
        • My personal choices would be… (choose ethnicity)
        • I would like my relationship to be with someone who lives…
      • Duet Test
        • PerfectMatch.com compatibility profiler doesn't match people simply because they have similar character traits. It actually describes and explains complete personality types. Based on the same theory that inspired the famous Myers Briggs Type Indicator, this is the only test of its kind and it is the only one that tells you which traits your partner should share and which should be different. Featured on The Dr. Phil Show, this is one of the most sophisticated and effective romantic matching tool on or off the internet. The Duet Compatibility Test includes eight pages of six true or false questions per page. Each page is considered an element. These eight elements are:
          • Romantic Impulsivity
          • Personal Energy
          • Outlook
          • Predictability
          • Flexibility
          • Decision Making Style
          • Emotionality
          • Self-Nurturing
        • Once the Duet Compatibility Test is complete, you receive your similarity test results. These are personality types that are "similar" to your type. There are four different types. A percentage is given of how many members match your type
        • PerfectMatch.com provides you with a description of each type and what that personality type means
      • Additional profile information:
        • Background & Values - This part of your profile allows other members to explore your favorite interests and lifestyle preferences. It gives them a picture of your daily life. Through your answers, your perfect match will know your likes and dislikes. Each question or statement below allows you to select single or multiple predefined words:
          • Core Values assessment test
          • Love and Money assessment test
          • Words my friends and family use to describe me
          • Which things about me would a person have to like, or at least tolerate, in order to be a good match?
          • Political View
          • Education
          • Religion
          • Religious Practices
          • Environmental views
        • Love & Lovestyle
          • Lovestyle test
          • When meeting a friend I’m usually…
          • Children and Family
          • Drinking
          • Smoking
          • Which best describes my approach to food…
          • A visit to my home and you will find it…
          • My sense of humor is…
          • Hobbies and Interests
          • Sports activities I participate in
          • I enjoy reading the following…
          • When it comes to music, I prefer…
          • My favorite romantic gestures
          • When it comes to pets, I prefer…
          • Approach to money
        • In My Words
          • Introduction
          • Personal Statement
          • Multiple short essay questions on subjects like accomplishments, family, and favorite date locations
      • Add photos by uploading, email or regular mail
    • Not included:
      • Advanced searching
      • Communicating with other singles
      • Access to “Ask Dr. Schwartz”
      • Unlimited access to profiles
      • Highlighted profile

    Relationship Types Allowed

    • Straight
    • Gay
    • Lesbian

    Your Relationship Status

    • Single
    • Divorced
    • Widowed

    Relationships You can Look For

    • Dating
    • Long-Term
    • Marriage

    PerfectMatch.com Costs

    • Membership costs last confirmed July 26, 2012. Please check PerfectMatch.com for most recent pricing
    • There are 3 membership types (Basic - Free, Premium, Platinum)
    • Free book - "Finding Your Perfect Match" by Dr. Pepper Schwartz – available with membership purchase
    • Premium Membership includes:
      • Access to "Ask Dr. Schwartz"
      • Ability to add up to eight photos
      • Access to exclusive INvite Feature
      • Advanced search tools
      • Unlimited access to profiles
      • Communication with other singles
      • Guaranteed results
      • Preferred search results
      • See who’s bookmarked your profile
      • Costs in USD:
        • 1 month for $59.95
        • 3 months for $36.95 per month. Billed in one installment of $110.85
    • Platinum Membership includes:
      • All of the Premium perks, plus the following:
      • Appear higher in search results than Premium members
      • Highlighted Featured Platinum Profile
      • All members can communicate with you (both free and paid)
      • Costs in USD:
        • 6 months for $33.33 per month. Billed in one installment of $199.95
    • Pay by credit card, check or money order
    • Auto renewal enabled by default but is easily turned off in your account settings. All new subscriptions are set to automatically renew 24 hours before they expire
    • Perfectmatch "Match" Guarantee
      • 1-month plan - no guarantee offered for 1-month plan
      • 3-month plan - if you don’t receive a minimum of six Perfect Matches, your membership will be extended for two months at no cost to you until the commitment is reached
      • 6-month plan - same guarantee as 3- month plan, except a minimum of eight Perfect Matches must be sent

    PerfectMatch.com Viewing & Communication Tools

    • The "Perfect Matches" area features matches (singles who fit your criteria) you are currently in communication with. As a perfect match, the communication path includes two levels of Ice Breakers, mail, sharing of photos and potentially an INvite, should you desire to take the next step to invite your perfect match out for coffee, lunch or another activity. This is an excellent way to keep track of singles you are interested in and communicating with
    • By profile
    • Private mail
    • IceBreakers
    • Dating On Demand
      • Video profiles professionally produced which are also featured on TV through the Dating on Demand service found on Cox and Comcast Digital Cable
    • Quick search
    • Compatibility search
    • Keyword search
    • Custom search
    • Video search
    • You can save any search in a list that can be brought up later for viewing

    Other PerfectMatch.com Information

    • Perfectmatch.com's Duet® Total Compatibility System was co-developed by Dr. Pepper Schwartz.
    • Dr. Pepper Schwartz is a Professor of Sociology at the University of Washington in Seattle. A graduate of Washington University in St. Louis, Dr. Schwartz holds a B.A. and M.A., where she was a Woodrow Wilson Fellow. She also holds an M.A. and Ph.D in Sociology from Yale University

    Click button to become a member for Free!

    Sign-up
    Get Someone - Free Compatibility Profile


    Disclaimer:
    While we make every effort to ensure the accuracy and reliability of our information at DatingSitesReviews.com we shall not be held responsible for any discrepancy. There is a possibility that the information provided here is outdated or wrong, please check with the service directly for the most recent information. As always you should read your terms of service before signing up to any online service.

Last Updated: Saturday, March 08 2014 @ 01:59 PM|Hits: 196,196 View Printable Version

The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.

  • Perfect Match is the worst
  • Authored by:elaine marie on Thursday, March 27 2014 @ 04:56 PM
this is the WORST dating site ever, and it's expensive for what you get NOTHING. i reported them to the BBB and won my $100 back. this site is for the OWNER's own ego, and that is it. the site computerized and consistently matched me with men who were 250 miles out of my residence; they were literally illiterate, of the complete opposite political views, had or wanted children (i stated i did NOT), and basically were losers. the BBB complaint seems to have disappeared. perhaps since the owner of this site appeared on fat Oprah's show years ago.
don't register with this fake site !!!! and THEY match you (a computer does this)....you are better off meeting a cowboy in a bar.
  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Tuesday, October 15 2013 @ 11:24 AM
If you open an account with PerfectMatch.com they will continue to bill you after you close it. Do not give them your credit card information. Otherwise, you will have to cancel your card and get a new one in order to get rid of them.
  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, April 13 2013 @ 08:07 PM
Waste of money and time they have no control over the site and I kept running into old profiles all the way back to 2004 you have no way of seeing when someone was signed in last and who has visited your profile
  • Not Worth the Trouble (Perfect Match)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, December 02 2012 @ 12:20 AM
I went through all the questions on a free membership, but you can't do anything with a free membership so it was a huge waste of time. To add insult to injury, they rejected my photos (my face??) and I couldn't get back into the service to cancel my account so I had to send an email to customer service to cancel it.
Stay far away from these people
  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, August 25 2012 @ 10:57 AM
this site is just a repository for scam artists, and the site administrator does not care. None of my emails were even answered. all they want is your money, for which you get absolutely nothing in return, except emails from people with foreign accents in their texting
  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, November 03 2013 @ 06:48 PM
This conditions still persists. I put a profile up in October 2013 and got nothing but scammers sending me emails and other types of contacts. Perfectmatch customer service asked me for the content and user information--and I sent them every last one (which was four to six a day) until they finally refunded my money.
  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Disappointed woman from Seattle on Thursday, September 16 2010 @ 11:54 AM

I am really disappointed from perfect match.com . They took my money ( $ 100 ) and then they do not send me only the jurks with HS level or less, which they make me just feel disgusted and wants to cancle the membership . If I do that they will not refund me anything and that is what the customer service told me . I guess as far as I am well educated , attractive woman looking for serious relation for life , it is better to find my match from the right local places . From my experience the online dating is waste of a lot of money , efforts . I wish if I did not sign up for this site .

Good luck to everybody

 

  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Glamz on Sunday, September 16 2012 @ 12:50 PM
Full of romance scammers. Do not spend your money.
  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Tuesday, May 04 2010 @ 07:39 PM

I completed all the questions because i read a review saying it would be as low as 33.00 a month. After spending so long completing the questions i have only one option, 80.00 for 3 months and i want only one month to test it out. I click on "change order" but there is nothing else to change it to so unless your down to spend 80.00 on something most people will give up on w/in the first month, dont waste your time

  • Perfect Match Review (Perfectmatch.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, February 06 2010 @ 08:24 AM

I started to register on PerfectMatch.com but found all the ridiculous and stupid question they asked not worth the effort. Would advice anyone to steer clear of such sites that try to do a psychological  profile of you online.  Very misleading and dangerous. You would be best to find a site that asked more sensible question.  Good luck.

  • Found my Perfect Match
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, December 04 2009 @ 09:50 PM
I have no idea what the other comments are about! I had a wonderful experience on PerfectMatch.com and so did my best friend. The site had great features and lots of men to choose from. Most of my matches were appealing, some weren't, but I think that's the case with any other site. If I had one complaint to give it would be that - I certainly got a bid head from this site - with all the dates and offers to go out on dates! I came across this review site while looking for a coupon for a gift certificate to PerfectMatch for my mom. After reading the comments all I have to say is, I wonder what these people who had a bad experience look like.....
  • Found my Perfect Match
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, February 02 2013 @ 01:25 PM
If you are so happy with the site why are you posting anonymously??? This is the worst site I have ever encountered. Took my $ and I cant use it keeps accnowledging me as a basic user even though i paid. BTW im told all the time on other sites i use for free that im...hot, beautiful, sexy, have a great smile, are a sweet person....ect... was going to pay to see if the men were more serious about commentment.
I agree this site is a scam!!!!!
Debbie... NOT ANONYMOUS
AKA debslookn4u
  • Found my Perfect Match
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Thursday, December 10 2009 @ 09:28 AM
i think perfect match should be taught well about money used to pay for subscription . its th most expensive dating site i have ever since...
  • Found my Perfect Match
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, December 18 2009 @ 07:24 PM
There are much better sites out there... If you want scientific matching, go to RewardingLove.com It's completely free, and there seems to be a lot of real useful science behind it. If you just want to search, go to Plentyoffish.com There are all sorts of people on there, so someone will probably be to your liking.

For free searching - Plentyoffish.com
For free private matchmaking - RewardingLove.com
  • The service is not what it appears to be
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, November 06 2009 @ 11:09 PM
This is one of the worst dating sites I've encountered. I received 4 perfect matches on sign up, but have not received any others since then. Furthermore, the few emails I received from men were incomprehensible and appeared to be written by several people. Read about the refund policy -- there isn't one! I learned the hard way.
  • Scam on Perfect Match
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, October 21 2009 @ 11:33 AM
I just discovered that I was scammed by a person on Perfect Match, fortunately before I could be taken for any money. Person found me and emailed, talked to me enough that I agreed to communicate off site (Don't do it!) Supposedly traveled out of country to Nigeria on scientific research (should have been more suspicious then) and then was "attacked" and called me from the "hospital" and wanted me to send money. I didn't and just finished filing a complaint through the FBI. Be careful on these sites.
  • Scam on Perfect Match
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, November 20 2009 @ 10:16 PM
Good for YOU!! I was contacted by obviously the same con artist and his son on SeniorPeopleMeet.com did they send you a copy of the x-ray of the broken leg. Said they needed $2500 for operation; boy I would like that health plan.....LOL I too contacted the FBI.
  • Nof for specific matches
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, September 05 2009 @ 06:14 AM
If you are looking for a specific match for a serious relationship, do not sign up Perfectmatch.com
There is no option for specific ethnicity, no option for specific denomination for Christian.
There is options for specific language. A match can be a specific ethnicity you are looking for but doesn't speak the language so the match would not be delivered to you.
Options for Christians are available but you cannot filter out certain denomination. If you have a very conservative denomination background, you don't want a match who has a very liberal or generally regarded as anti-social denomination background.
Also, recently a member ( don't know whether it's a real member or a fake made up by the site) with fake photos were discovered.
If you search by a name " Keiko " it will show very pretty Japanese girl. She was not delivered as a perfect match even though the compatibility was PERFECT match with a member. If you google the name " Keiko " you will find exact photos.
If you are just looking for dates for fun without any specific, the site might deliver you tons of matches.
The compatibility test is very interesting. If you are majority like White/ Caucasian and don't care about religion, it will be good to find a compatible match. GOOD LUCK !
Note: No photo members are either they don't have pictures to upload or they don't like to show their pictures to anybody ( you can do that too by selecting the option)
  • Don't waste your momey
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, July 29 2009 @ 07:06 PM
Perfectmatch.com is a complete waste of money. I signed up and paid 60 dollars to become a member. They wouldn't even let me try it out or see how many potential matches I would have until I paid. This is twice the price of match.com, which I have found to be successful. Once I became a member, I only had 6 matches or so and most of them didn't have a picture. I also tried searching and there were a few people as matches but I am not aware as to how active they are or when they were last online. For all I know, they are inactive and therefore it is a complete waste of time for me to email them. This site is a waste of money. Please do not sign up for it. I would HIGHLY recommend signing up for match.com. It is way cheaper and much more easier to use and effective.
  • Thieves, liars and mockery.
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, May 03 2009 @ 09:18 PM
I fully agree with the Wednesday, April 15 2009 @ 12:49 PM Eastern Daylight Time posting by Anonymous. These people don't care, it's just about getting the money. As soon as I paid and entered the site I saw that the area covered wasn't local as I was led to believe. But I was originally drawn to the site for the reason that it appeared community based. I then requested a cancelation and the responder stated that as a courtesy he would cancel my account immediately so that I can no longer log into the website and also he would give me a refund. I thought how wonderful considering that I had paid $79 as it turns out for nothing.

Later when I checked my CC statement I discovered that the thieves had only credited me $29 and kept the other $50. I'd probably just sit it out until the end of my membership had I known they'd keep as much of my money. I asked about this discrepancy and was told that they had said they only offer partial refund. Uggh. Nowhere in the emails they sent me did they mention partial refund.

Great way to make money. Just throw up a website, watch the registrations and don't give refunds when customers discover that they have either been mislead or that the site doesn't have nearly as much to offer as promised. We should boycott these sites because they are just on the other side laughing at us who are providing them a paycheck.
  • Don't bother
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, April 15 2009 @ 12:49 PM
I was really disappointed with this site. I work for an online social networking site & knew some of the funcationality I was looking for - they didn't have it.
1. Low quality of people on site - many don't have education higher than HS.
2. Site doesn't allow you to review a lot of functionality unless you are a paid member, which is typical for many sites; however, with this site you HAVE to pay. Free membership doesn't really give you many benefits.
3. No refunds on your subscription price - I canceled after a month, customer service never got back to me to discuss refund. I sent over 4 emails to them - bad customer service. Felt all they wanted was my money and didn't care about user experience.

Final Statement: Join at youir own risK!!!
  • Don't bother
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, May 03 2009 @ 09:03 AM
This review was helpful. Thinking about doing the 'online dating thing' again. Tried eharmony and will not go there again. Did match.com 3+ years ago, didn't stay long, perhaps a month at most. One date, no chemistry but now he's the bookkeeper for my business. Was going to try Perfect Match. Guess I won't. Match.com just takes too much time. Perhaps I should just see what happens w/o the help of the internet.