Topics

Quick Search

Search for dating sites that match your needs.

I am:

I live in:

Looking for:

Between the age:

User Functions


Welcome to Dating Sites Reviews Friday, October 31 2014 @ 09:20 AM

Match Review (Match.com)

Match.com Review

Average: • 3.1 / 5 (by 87 Users) for Match.com   view button add button

Welcome to one of the largest dating services on the Internet. Match.com claims to be responsible for more dates, relationships, and marriages than any other dating site in the world, a reputation they’ve lived up to since launching in 1995. Match now serves singles in 24 countries and hosts websites in 15 different languages, giving them one of the largest member bases of any dating service. In fact, the team at Match so confident that you’ll find love amongst their millions of members that they offer a guarantee:find someone special in 6 months or get 6 more months for free.

To get a feel for how dating on Match.com works, new users can sign up for a free account. Only paid members have access to the full range of Match features, but free members can create a profile, post photos, and send winks. If you’re struck with writer’s block, Match offers a ProfilePro service that provides dating experts to review your profile, edit the text so it puts your best foot forward, and offer online dating advice.

After subscribing, members have unlimited access to Match.com’s complete functionality. As a paid user, you can view all photos posted on other profiles, send unlimited emails, and see who has viewed your profile. You also receive a dedicated Match email address, so you can communicate safely and privately with other singles on the site.

matchMobile makes it easy to take the online dating experience anywhere. Surfing the site from your smartphone is simple, and it includes nearly all of the features the main site offers. You can update your profile, search for matches, or send an email to that one member who caught your eye. The mobile service also sends alerts, by email or text message, when you receive a new wink or message. Match.com dating applications are available for the iPhone, Palm Pre, Palm Pixi, Blackberry, Android, and Windows phones, and are free to use by Match.com subscribers. Most of these smart phones have the added advantage of allowing you to use location-based capabilities to find other singles in your area.

To protect your privacy, premium members can use the matchPhone service, an anonymous alternative to conventional phone calls. matchPhone allows you to talk or text on your cell phone anonymously by generating a new, unique phone number that is forwarded right to your phone. Your auto-generated matchPhone number is the only number that will appear on the other member's Caller ID.

The latest additions to Match.com’s wide range of services are The Stir, an iPad app, and two-player games. The Stir takes online dating into the real world by hosting live, local events for Match members. Match plans to roll out Stir events – which will include happy hours, cooking classes, dance lessons, wine tastings, and bowling nights – nationwide by September 2012.

For those who aren’t interested in meeting matches in person, Match will introduce 7 new games in summer 2012. The games each last from 1 to 5 minutes, and are structured to create shared experiences that encourage interaction between players. The initial run of games will be called Best & Worst, Food Critic, Romance Rip Off, Name That Dance, Gut Reaction, Drawn Together, and If I Could.

Match members can enjoy all that 21st century technology has to offer with the iPad app, which offers all the features of the primary website plus a few unique iPad touches. The app takes full advantage of the iPad canvas with large photos, sorting search, and a new email feature that makes it easy to contact someone you’re checking out. The email form floats over the profile of the person you’re sending it to, making it easier than ever to craft a message based on aspects of their profile.

Put it all together, and you get a site that fully deserves its reputation as one of the best dating services on the Web.

flag_uk UK singles, please read our separate Match.com UK review.

Current Promotions

Awards

CurrentPast
2013 Dating Sites Reviews Single's Choice Award - Gold 2013 Dating Sites Reviews Choice Awards - Over All 2012 Dating Sites Reviews Single's Choice Award - Gold 2012 Dating Sites Reviews Choice Awards - Over All 2011 Dating Sites Reviews Single's Choice Award - Gold
Note:See this page for a full list of past awards

Positive Features of Match.com

  • Site is easy to use
  • A first in the dating world:a Guarantee (formerly called “Make Love Happen Guarantee”)-read below in the costs section for more details
  • Very large online dating service (perhaps the largest general oriented dating site on the internet)
  • Ability to remove singles from your search results
  • Ability to find out when your match reads the email you sent them with Email Read Notification
  • Online customer care available – members can contact customer care via the online form and receive a response within 24 hours

Negative Features of Match.com

  • Although the site is easy to use and has a great online help system, those who are new to the internet and online dating sites may want support over the phone

At a Glance

Address:
Match.com
Regions:
United States, Canada
Languages:
English, French
Member Numbers:
Not Available
Cost per Month:
From $20.99 / month
Membership Types:
Free - Basic
Paid

Related Categories

Million Plus Members
Mobile Phone Dating
Professional Dating
Canadian Dating
2007 Awards
2008 Awards
2009 Awards
2010 Awards
2011 Awards
2012 Awards
2013 Awards

Match.com Free Membership

  • Free Trials (limited length of time) and Free Memberships are both available
  • Included:
    • Create a profile – the following information is needed for a profile
      • General – user info, gender, birthday, location, sex and age of the person you are seeking
      • Basics – relationship status, who are you looking for, search radius from your postal zip code
      • Appearance
      • Interests – lists of interests to choose from and essay questions covering what you do for fun, favorite type of date, etc.
      • Lifestyle – what you enjoy doing in life
      • Background / values – ethnicities, faith, education, languages
      • About my date – description of who you think your best match would be, including everything from appearance to smoking preferences
      • Introduction – headline and essay question, describe yourself and your perfect match
      • Photos
    • Search for matches
    • View profiles
    • Send winks
    • Post photos
    • General mobile access
    • Receive text alerts for winks and emails
  • Not Included:
    • Receive, reply, and send messages
    • Connect faster with IM
    • Ability to see who has viewed your profile
    • Keep track of all open Connections in one place – including those you've sent Winks to
    • Remove members you're not interested in from your search results in order to make room for other possibilities
  • Your profile will be reviewed by a member of the Match.com customer service team within 48 hours. Once approved, other members will be able to find you!

Relationship Types Allowed

  • Straight
  • Gay
  • Lesbian
  • Bisexual

Your Relationship Status

  • Single
  • Divorced
  • Widowed

Relationships You can Look For

  • Dating
  • Friends
  • Long-Term
  • Marriage

Match.com Costs

  • Membership costs last confirmed May 18, 2013. Please check Match.com for most recent pricing
  • The first seven days of a membership are free
  • Standard Plans includes:
    • Send & receive email messages
    • Instant messenger
    • Read & reply to emails on mobile (full mobile access)
    • Remove members from view
    • See who's viewed you
    • One click search type
    • Receive SingledOut matches
    • Costs for a membership:
      • 1 month for $41.99 per month
      • 3 months for $23.99 per month
      • 6 months for $20.99 per month. Includes Match.com Guarantee
  • Best Value Plans includes:
    • All the benefits of a Standard Plan
    • Email Read Notification
    • First Impressions
    • Highlighted Profile
    • Costs for a membership:
      • 3 months for $26.99 per month
      • 6 months for $23.99 per month. Includes Match.com Guarantee
  • Match.com additional paid features:
    • matchPhone - From $4.99 to $6.99 per month (depends on plan length)
      • Talk with other members on your own phone, but keep your number confidential
    • Email Read Notification - From $2.99 to $4.99 per month (depends on plan length)
      • Find out when your matches read the messages you have sent them
    • Highlighted Profile - From $2.20 to $4.99 per month (depends on plan length)
      • Your profile receives a unique color in search results so it stands out from the rest
    • First Impressions - From $2.20 to $4.99 per month (depends on plan length)
      • Newest members see your profile first which gives you a better chance of being contacted
  • Additional paid features are more expensive per month if you pick a shorter membership term
  • Match.com Guarantee
    • If you don't find someone special during your six-month subscription, Match.com will give you an additional six months at no additional cost to you to continue your search. Certain rules apply. See Match.com for full details
  • Match.com accepts most major credits and PayPal

Match.com Viewing & Communication Tools

  • Photos
  • Profiles
  • Mail messages
    • Email Read Notification (you are notified when someone reads the mail you sent them)
    • VIP Email (Very Important Person)
      • A member can send one a week. It is reset every Monday at midnight Central Standard Time
      • The message will be bolded and highlighted in the receivers inbox and their profile highlighted on the receivers Connections page
    • Filtered email
      • Add up to seven filters that allows you to specify the type of members you want to receive emails from
      • You can filter emails based on profile attributes. These attributes include age, height, location, smoking, children, ethnicity and religion
  • Games
    • Play one of seven games that last 1-5 minutes with other members that are designed to encourage interaction and asses compatibility
    • Choose between:Best & Worst, Food Critic, Romance Rip Off, Name That Dance, Gut Reaction, Drawn Together, and If I Could
  • The Stir events
    • Attend in-person singles events around the country
    • Each event is customized through the Match group matching algorithms in terms of age, gender, and interests
    • Events include:happy hours, cooking classes, wine & tequila tastings, bowling nights, dance lessons
  • Match.com Messenger
    • Used for chatting and storing favorite members
  • Match.com Dating Apps
    • Apps are available on Android and iOS (iPhone and iPad)
    • Dedicated iPad and tablet apps to take advantage of the larger screen. For more information on the latest iPad app and the features offered you can read: Match Launches A Brand New iPad App
    • Compatible with Android Wearables. Features include voice commands and pulse notifications. For more on this feature you can read: Match.com supports Android Wearables
    • Check out member profiles who are near you. Receive daily matches
    • Create a profile and upload photos
    • Communicate by exchanging emails and flirts
    • Search for members and see who has looked at your profile and who has liked your photos
  • Who's online
  • Keywords
  • Sex, age and sexual orientation
  • Distance, city and zip code
  • Any part of profile including appearance, interests, lifestyles and values
  • Daily Matches
    • Match.com offers you a new list of matches every day. Members can then let Match know if they sparked your interest. If so, an introduction email is sent out. If not, the match is removed from your list. The Daily Matches feature learns from your choices to provide better matches in the future
  • Reverse Matches
    • Discover who is looking for you but you are not necessary looking for
  • Mutual Matches
    • Lists members with whom you share a mutual attraction, essentially allowing you to find members who will also like you based on profile matching preferences
  • Smart Search
    • Find people based on their interests, MatchWords, username or other text in their profiles. You enter some words or a phrase in a text box along with a postal/zip code and your gender
  • DateSpark
    • Help users actually meet people with compatible interests in real life
    • Propose a date that you find interesting and then wait for a response from members who are interested in the same activity
  • Location Based Searching
    • Available for the Match.com iPhone, Palm Pixi, Palm Pre, Blackberry and Android dating applications
    • Allows you to find other singles in your immediate area
    • Match.com members must opt in before their location is given out
  • You are allowed to save any search with a name so it is easy to retrieve later

Other Match.com Information

  • You can link your Facebook account and/or your Windows Live ID account to your Match.com account
  • "Match.com is enormously popular and singles are finding it a great place to meet appropriate suitors." -- Katie Couric, Today Show
  • "It's now 100% socially acceptable to sign up for Match.com" -- Business Week
  • Forbes magazine rated Match.com as one of the best online dating services available

Click button to become a member for Free!

Sign-up


Disclaimer:
While we make every effort to ensure the accuracy and reliability of our information at DatingSitesReviews.com we shall not be held responsible for any discrepancy. There is a possibility that the information provided here is outdated or wrong, please check with the service directly for the most recent information. As always you should read your terms of service before signing up to any online service.

Last Updated: Wednesday, October 29 2014 @ 07:22 AM|Hits: 412,070 View Printable Version

The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.

  • Match.com in Australia
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Thursday, October 23 2014 @ 07:03 PM
I joined Match.com for a few months and looked for someone within 100km of Brisbane QLD. I tried the 50-58 group, after a couple of months I decided to hide my profile from view and then cancel it later. Then I started to receive emails and winks from very attractive 28-32year olds. How could they know that I existed if my profile was hidden from view? Why would they sent me a message when they were looking for someone between 30-38, I am 58? When I did a search for their profiles at least half of the profiles did not exist. One 28year old said she lives in a place called Roto, NSW, Australia, I looked at google maps and this place is in the wilderness, there are no houses, nothing! Look at google maps yourself. It looks to me as if someone at match.com had a map of Australia and threw darts at it and wherever it landed that is where they created a bogus profile using photo's they lifted off facebook.
  • Match Review (Match.com) they dont screen
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, October 15 2014 @ 06:37 PM
They obviously dont bother to find out if ppl are actually single or not!!!! A LOT of Cheating Married Men on here. They make it so damn easy with the damn anonymous ph call/txt number they offer. If these ppl are really single & want to find other SINGLE ppl they shouldnt have to hide there numbers.. thats what cheaters do.. thats what ruins lives.. making it soooo much easier for ppl to cheat!!!!! This site is just a meat market for the low lifes!!!!!!!
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:polyanna on Wednesday, October 08 2014 @ 04:37 PM
They are a bloody nuisance, you cannot get rid of them off your email service if you do not want their persistent bloody emails.
  • Match.com
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Monday, September 29 2014 @ 02:38 PM
That was not my problem. The auto renewal feature is a good feature and I have not problem with that. My issues is that they do not warn you about charging your account. I got no notice except from my bank informing me of the overdraft caused by this charge. That is a problem. I get so many junk emails from this company on a daily basis but they can't send me one that says I am getting charged tomorrow for a renewal. Poor customer service for sure. I will never use Match.com again. There are too many free sites to use now which is why I quit using Match.com in the first place.
  • My Match.com Nightmare
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, September 06 2014 @ 08:05 PM
I was a loyal match.com member for 5 years. I generally like the site and that fact that it costs really $$ for most functions typically means higher quality women.
I was notified by my bank that my credit card account was used in Seattle and after verifying it wasn't me, they cancelled my card and issued a new one. By sheer coincidence, match charged my renewal the same day as the fraud. Since I didn't expect or recognize the charge, I disputed it. Match instantly blocked my account with a strange message that I was blocked for suspicious activity - contact customer service, which I did. I explained the situation and instructed my credit card company to re-process the transaction as it was legit and I wanted it. Even though they did so, match customer service continued to insist they didn't for several MONTHS!! Then they claimed it was disputed a second time by me. According to my bank (bank of America) there was no such 2nd dispute, nor would they ever dispute a charge twice. Meanwhile I asked..then begged match to send me some proof of a 2nd dispute. A transaction number, code, ANYTHING!! I wanted some kind of paper trail so I could find out what really happened between them and my CC company. Not only did they refuse to provide anything, they said they the matter is closed and they will no longer even respond to my requests!!! WTF?!?! This is how they treat long-time PAYING customers?!! I am astounded. If you read their terms of service it states that they will close your account immediately if you dispute the transaction!! Who does that? There are legitimate reasons this may occur - like mine. Now they have $120 of my money and my only option is to actually have the bank dispute the transaction to get my money back!! How ironic is that?!! Match.com could care less about you, the paying customer, and their customer "service" department is a complete and utter joke. All I can say is buyer beware, if this can happen to me, a long-time, legitimate, paying customer; it can happen to anyone. Match.com - the site that treats it's customers like garbage. Take Two Interactive owns Match.com. They are a publicly traded company. I strongly urge you to SELL their stock if you own it. Any company that refuses to accept money from legitimate users does not deserve their money. Their entire management team should be fired.
  • My Match.com Nightmare
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, October 15 2014 @ 07:02 PM
Be careful what ur paying for.. they dont bother to put in a section to check for MARRIED ppl... single, divorced, widowed, or separated but they forgot about ALL the married people they let use this sight deseatfully... you just dont know who ur really going to meet & ur paying A Lot of money for this service!!!!
  • Numbers Game for Matches
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, July 18 2014 @ 09:03 AM
It's a numbers game. I joined a short time ago and have received exactly 24 matches every day plus 8-10 "daily matches." And they're not really even matches- the complete polar opposite of my political views or faith or anything else I checked that I was looking for. They may simply have a dog (like me). Nothing else indicates I would be of any interest to them or vice versa. Then all the profiles state they are looking for "slender", "athletic and toned" females and then they state in their essay they are looking for attractive women only (even though their photos may not indicate they are "toned"). The questions about your interests are so vague, just about anyone has at least one factor that "matches." But, if you contact 24 "matches" every day, you are bound to get a few dates and maybe something long term. Don't really see how this is much different from personal ads or just generally going to parties. There doesn't seem to be any "matching".
  • Match Review after 6 months
  • Authored by:E on Tuesday, July 15 2014 @ 11:03 PM
I've been on this dating site for 6 months now and here is what I would say to you guys out there who are thinking about joining

While there appear to be a lot of good-looking women on here, it's really difficult to figure out which one to contact first. Then, the ones you don't send a message to all see that you viewed their profile but didn't send them a message. And if you view their profile multiple again, it looks like you're stalking them. It's really a no-win situation, unless of course you are rich and have the perfect body.

There seems to be an inordinate number of attractive females with the same exact information in their About Me section. They're all shy at first, but then can be outgoing. They all are sarcastic and down to earth. Working out is their favorite thing to do, as well as traveling the world. They're all looking for someone who's athletic and toned, who's family oriented and likes to try new things.

I honestly don't know if these are real women trying to find a guy or if they are fake profiles being used by the website to make it look like it's not all unattractive women on there.

Multiple times, I have received a like or wink but then I send a message showing interest and never hear a thing back. On two occasions, I had been messaging back-and-forth with a female and thought we were gelling well, then I ask them if they want to meet up and they all of a sudden flake out and quit responding to me. What is the point in getting to know someone on a dating site if they don't want to ever meet you? I was not pushy at all and, both times, I waited until we'd been talking for a few weeks before throwing that idea out there.

I recently updated my profile to say I was not renewing my subscription, then all of a sudden I receive like 4 likes from girls who had previously blown off my messages. Do these girls work for the web site and are just trying to keep my interest so I renew for another 6 months? You be the judge.

I'm not trying to say I am the perfect catch or some stud muffin, but I'm a decent looking guy with a good job, solid education and no baggage and I have had absolutely no luck on this site. If you have a bunch of spare time to spend it might be for you, but it's seemed like way more of a hassle than it's been worth for me.

  • Match.com Rules
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, April 06 2014 @ 09:00 PM
Match.com is ok if you are a guy who wants to meet females, but you have to set some rules.
1. Don't allow them to "interview"=qualify you before you meet. Either meet or not.
2. Don't allow them to con you into buying dinner. Women often do this. Coffee.
3. Don't allow them to figure you out. Be as mysterious as James Bond, "salesman".
4. Don't feel bad if you are rejected. It's a numbers game. A duck hunter doesn't care about the ducks he missed.
5. Wear a button down shirt. Females think this means you wear a tie at work.
6. Never discuss politics, gays, etc.
7. Never discuss exes, or you prefer Asian, etc.
8. Listen to her, let her talk. This will make you seem "understanding" "good listener" etc.
9. Females like 1. good looks 2. money. Both in combination are preferred so if she's gorgeous and you are Quasimodo, either be rich or make her believe it. Otherwise forget it.
  • Match.com Rules - Coffee over dinner
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, May 09 2014 @ 01:08 PM
I have to agree with the dinner thing. Especially if you are dating a lot it can get pretty expensive quickly. Plus, with online dating you are never really sure until meeting the person in real life. It is better to do this over coffee than with a full blown date.
  • Match.com experience
  • Authored by:Rachel on Saturday, March 22 2014 @ 11:59 AM
I had a good experience on match. I met my current boyfriend on the site and we hit it off right away. He contacted me just a week after I joined and something about his message just hit home. I was getting about 10 messages a day and his was the perfect balance of charming, intelligent and funny. He also had some great looking pictures of himself.

My friends have had good luck as well (though not as fast). This is a great dating site for the professional women in her thirties.
  • Match.com experience
  • Authored by:Sue from the South on Saturday, April 05 2014 @ 11:48 AM
Would you recommend Match.com for someone in a smaller town with about 100 thousand people? Is Match big enough to have members near me that I can find online?
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, January 11 2014 @ 08:39 AM
I joined the site, paid the meMbership and all of that; sent a few messages to normal looking women, All I got was scammers trying to rip me off.
Joined RSVP, paid the membership and those Fkn stamps, again no luck.

Conclusion for me:

All these dating sites are full of sh...t. they are a nest for scammers. tell everyone you know not to join these scamms.

FIND A NORMAL WOMAN THE NORMAL WAY.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, October 15 2014 @ 07:08 PM
This site is full of married men & women!!! As are a lot of the othet ones.. these sites make it so dang easy for spouces to cheat these days.. so everyone be careful out there, u just dont know what kind of looser your going to meet or how many lives are actually ruined by it unless you enjoy being the OTHER women or man!!! Just sayin.....
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Matt on Wednesday, November 13 2013 @ 10:00 PM
Should call it Gold Diggers.com
Every woman I encounter was more interested in what I had then who I was.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, October 09 2013 @ 12:20 PM
Met the love of my life here!!
  • Match.com and Salaries
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, June 21 2014 @ 01:30 AM
Agreed, many of the attractive women will not date men making less then $75000 in addition to a laundry list of requirements. Usually these women are recent divorcees but they fail to realize that by being this picky they will never meet men. yet they cry and say "No one wants me". But maybe there are a lot of men making 100000+ in the NYC area because if a woman had this requirement and never met anyone I am sure she would take it off her profile...
  • Match.com is CRAP.
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, September 29 2013 @ 10:59 AM
My experience with them is AWFUL. First, I wouldn't even visit their site if they weren't spamming one of my favorite websites with their silly advertisements. Out of curiosity, I decided to create a trial account with them, but... no luck! I tried at least 10 times, using three different email accounts, but every time the story was the same - after finishing their lengthy questionnaire the site sends me to their login page, and it's a no go from there - my credentials get rejected, time and again. The activation link in my email doesn't help either. There is no explanation, no support page where I can ask for help, no nothing. And by the way, I'm not some newbie, I'm a software developer, with decades of experience in the Internet, and have profiles in hundreds of websites requiring login credentials. My only explanation for this fiasco is that I come from a small country, and the guys from Match.com simply don't want to bother supporting small countries. Thanks for my wasted time, Match.com... not.
  • AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, September 06 2013 @ 04:56 PM
I signed up for a free trial of Match.com, and after the first two days really knew the site and service was not for me- I was being contacted by men old enough to be my grandfather, or by men in Sweden and other foreign countries. I went online and accessed my account the evening before I'd been advised my free trail would expire in order to cancel my subscription. You can imagine my dismay when a message displayed advising me that my membership could not be cancelled as my payment was being processed. I contacted the customer service at Match both over the phone and via the website to try to resolve the situation and neither were willing to help. I've now been refused a refund and advised that my account can and will not be deleted, despite the fact I have removed all photographs and information from my profile and have only used the messaging service to contact Match customer services. Basically, I've been charged £29.99 to display a blank page on a website I have no intent on using for the next 30 days. I work in customer service for a leading UK company and frankly if Match are showing the poor level of service I have received, I am quite simply dumbstruck as to how they are still operating with any customers at all, let alone satisfied ones. I advise you to keep your money in your bank account, not in the pockets of Match.com CEOs.
  • Match.com Dating
  • Authored by:AKA on Tuesday, August 13 2013 @ 04:26 PM
I have used this site in the past and have been successful. With my 3 month membership I went out with 4 different guys (at different times) on a number of dates before I found my last boyfriend (who is my ex now).

That was about a year ago and I decided to give eharmony a try this time. So far so good. You can see my comment about that dating site on it's review page.
  • Comment on Match.com
  • Authored by:June on Wednesday, July 17 2013 @ 07:17 PM
I tried a free dating site first but I found it to be pretty bad. I was contacted constantly be men whose only interest in me was for sex. I quickly had enough and figured it was worth spending some money to filter out all the jerks.

Match.com has been a rewarding experience since I joined a few weeks ago. I quickly found a few men with whom I thought a relationship was possible. I have talked to 2 on the phone and I have a date already setup with one.

If you are a women you may find it worth paying for a subscription. Men looking for just sex tend to not want to spend money.
  • Fake winks? (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, June 30 2013 @ 10:20 PM
I reactivated my old match.com account and quickly realised why I'd ditched it in the first place. Virtually EVERYTHING requires a paid sub. Someone viewed you? Cough up to find out who. Someone winked at you? Ditto. Email? Ditto.

I cleared the profile right down, no photos, no description, nothing, yet I was STILL getting winks. I smell a rat. Back to POF I'm afraid (which incidentally has a better user interface despite the somewhat convoluted menus).
  • Fake winks? (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Rick on Monday, July 08 2013 @ 07:15 PM
Match.com has always been paid so there is no surprise there.

I am not a fan of pof. It is virtual a paid site now and the forum moderators are like nazis!
  • Match.com
  • Authored by:Mr. X on Thursday, April 11 2013 @ 07:40 PM
Okay I have been reading over the comments and with the negative ones it's like some of you are using a completely different dating site than me. I have had a good experience on Match.com. I have used the site for 4 months now and have had very few problems with people trying to take advantage of me. If the person contacting you seems to good to be true (like a model) then it is and move on. Normal people use dating sites not young models who could get a date by walking down the street. Another thing to watch out for is broken english. If they can't speak your language then most likely they are from over seas. If you avoid these types then you shouldn't have a problem. Since using Match.com I have been on about 12 dates with 4 different people. I am not exclusive with anyone yet but I am having a good time.

Things I recommend you do before joining any dating site:
- Setup my own dating site email address on gmail.
- Take at least 10 pictures. Get a friend to do it.
- Don't be afraid to write your messages in MS Word first. Use the spell and grammar checker to make sure your emails are error free. Nothing is worst than seeing spelling mistakes.
- Always be polite and reply back to any message (that is legit) even if it is to say no thank-you.
  • Match.com customer service
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, March 12 2014 @ 03:23 PM

Customer Service with Match. Com is "canned". While trying to get an automatic renewal charge taken off my credi card, I got connected with 4 different representatives. I had turned off my automatic renewal many weeks before my subscription expired. Customer Service asked me, in the middle of my trying to get the issue resolved, "What has been your experience with match. com". Duh !  They would not ever provide the name of head of Customer Service and put me off by saying: "Is there anything else I can help you with today?" Don't waste your time and money with this site.

 

 

  • Match.com
  • Authored by:Miss DM on Monday, January 13 2014 @ 12:14 PM
I have been using this site for three years (the fact that I'm still a subscriber is more due to my bi-continental lifestyle than to the pitfalls of online dating sites).

I completely agree with the above writer, and a few similar contributors further down the page.

Besides compiling a clean looking profile, you must choose wisely. Many men state that they are superficial and visual. True, but if you date based on looks alone, ask yourself why this person is still single, why you are still single ..and take a look at your priorities.

The men I've met on this site have been much like their profile, very nice, but I'm not willing to settle at my age. Some also alter their age "..to place in a younger search category, because the women lie about THEIR age..", and perhaps there's some truth to this.

The alternative to this match site? I've tried the paid and the free. Paying sifts out a large percentage of the population not so serious about finding a more enduring companion, and some of us just don't have a social life revolving around heavily people populated activities, or live in an area full of eligible males/females to spontaneously bump into.

It works, but be realistic in your expectations, and let the head at the top of your body do the thinking.

  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, January 06 2013 @ 08:34 PM
I read through the posts and there are countless complaints from men about the quality of the women on match. I joined match last year and was taken aback at how many men posted pictures of themselves in sweats, were unshaven, or looked like they were drunk. Perhaps they are trying to "be themselve" but there is a lot to be said for putting your best foot forward and trying to make a good first impression. I am a fit, good looking woman and if I wanted a guy with 30 pounds of beer around the midsection I could head to the nearest bar.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, January 18 2013 @ 04:56 PM
lmao very true.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Monday, February 18 2013 @ 10:45 PM
I totally agree. Some of the guys are down right scary looking.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, December 23 2012 @ 11:53 PM
I was on Match,com for 6 months and it ended November of 2012. I was deluged with scammers. These people also tried to get me to a private email. So I made up a phony name on Hotmail so I was safe from these men. Then I learned how to analyze the header on their emails.

That was a true experience! I was getting emailed from Nigeria, Malaysia, Cape Town South Africa, Australia, and the United Kingdom. All said they lived in the area I lived in which was Los Angeles. I stopped saying that I knew where they were. I didn't want them to think of a different way to scam. Another effective method is to push to meet right away. They will not be able to do so. I am on Plenty of Fish (POF.com) and have not run into a scammer yet. P,S. I never had one date while being on Match.com. I reported to Match all of the people who were scammers.
  • My experience with match.com
  • Authored by: on Wednesday, December 19 2012 @ 09:00 AM
I had no issues with match and logging in until my six month membership turned into an addition six months free member ship! Now I can't log in and of course they send you to a non exsistant sight that's just filled with people asking questions with no answers. I bet if I were to pay again, I would be able to sign on.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, November 30 2012 @ 12:45 PM

 I have read through many of the comments on this forum, and I must say, if the profiles are written as illiterately as many of these comments, it is little wonder that one does not receive a reply.  

Match is simply a marketing tool; you are the product.  If one wants to sell a product, it should be appropriately marketed.  So, I would encourage you to look at your profile, critically...

  • Does it show that you put some effort into writing it, or did you just type whatever came to mind?  
  • Are your pictures current and clear, showing you doing things other than snapping your reflection in the bathroom mirror?  
  • Do your pictures (and profile) reflect you in a manner that represents the kind of partner you wish to attract?  (i.e.: if you want an active partner, but all your pictures are of you lounging on a couch, would an active person really be interested in responding to you)  
  • Do not put pictures of your children, grandchildren, animals, vacation scenery, cars, or homes.  The viewer wants to see YOU…we are not there to date your cat or dog.  Additionally, if you aren’t visible, one has to wonder what is being hidden.
  • When writing your profile, write positively and in an active voice, rather than passive.  What makes you unique; what lights you up?  Give the reader something on which to comment; for example, if you enjoy concerts, what is it you like about them?
  • Tell what you want in a relationship, NOT what you don't.  Accentuate the positive.
  • Your profile is representative of your personality.  No one likes a fun sponge, so make your profile light and fun to read, not angry and sarcastic. Engage your reader.
  • Use proper grammar: write in paragraphs, not run-on sentences: use punctuation and capitalization: USE SPELL CHECK.

If your writing skills are weak, ask a friend to help.  The quality of your profile and pictures is in direct correlation to the quality and quantity of the responses you will get.  Those few paragraphs and pictures are all you’ve got to compete, so make them strong.

 And finally, be realistic in your expectation of the type and number of response you will get.  If you are 70 years old, don’t expect to attract those that aren’t in AARP yet; if you are overweight and inactive, don’t expect to attract a hottie that runs everyday.  Be realistic. For the best results, market and pursue those most like you….stay in your demographic.

And most importantly, have fun with the process; it will come through in your profile and correspondence. 

 

  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Monday, February 10 2014 @ 10:15 AM
LOL...and how long have you worked at match?
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Wednesday, January 30 2013 @ 06:58 PM
Wow, the gentleman who listed the requirements for success on Match.com is dead on. You have to keep in mind it is an advertisement so think about the message your profile sends to others.

I have been off and on Match for 9 months or so. At first I had little info and no pictures but still received three emails, one from a guy that I ended up dating for a few months.

A while after we ended things, I wrote a profile about why I was a great date and added quality pictures. I was so inundated with emails and winks I had to hide my account after a few weeks. Then the process repeated a few months later when I'd whittled down the guys from the previous cycle.

I had 4,000 views and hundreds of emails from six total weeks on Match. I was selective with who I actually met and had about 20 fun dates.

I'd say if you approach this the right way, Match.com can be a great site for you, especially if you are a woman. Most of the men who contacted me had a few of the scammer/bad date horror stories, when I asked them to share. The Stir events were fun and I ended up making some female friends as well! Some Stir events are only $5, some are more expensive.

Like the gentleman said, look at your profile objectively. Would YOU want to date you? If the answer is no, it's time to revamp your advertising campaign!

Good luck out there!
  • Match will auto unhide your profile
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, December 01 2012 @ 11:22 PM
Previously happy with match several years ago. But I moved and decided to date again. My profile was hidden. After moving and being a few years older, many rounds of profile changes were needed before going "Live" again with my profile. So one night I made a few changes to my profile. Within 10 minutes I was getting emails about "she noticed you". Since my profile was hidden, I thought that match was attempting to scam me into re-subscribing since my original subscription was expired. So I sent a nasty email to their customer service. They replied that they were sorry and the reason I was getting notified was that my profile was unhidden on 11/28. So, assuming that somehow, I may have accidentally clicked on an unhide button somehow, I proceeded to edit my profile again. Bam, 10 minutes later I am getting winks. I was very careful not to unhide. So another nasty email to customer service. Their reply: "Please be aware that all member profiles become visible at the time that changes to them are approved. This is done as a convenience to our members so that others can see the updates they've added." Convenience? More like an IN-CONVENIENCE! It is absolutely insane that trying to create or modify a profile will cause bouncing in and out of visibility after every little change. This is crazy. Now I will have potential dates seeing my unfinished profile, and watching me pop up and down. Now I understand why some of the people who I might be interested in that come up in my searches are all of a sudden gone. It is because Match keeps unhiding their profile without their permission and they have to keep going back in to hide it. This has the overall result of increaing the search results that people are getting and fraudulently indicating that said people are available and actively looking. Very "Shady" and unprofessional. Match was not like this last time I used it. So disappointed, and I have closed my account.
  • Match will auto unhide your profile
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, February 15 2014 @ 02:16 PM
I get your frustration. Match should never make a profile visible w/o the members making that change. I am curious why you would be updating a profile you want to keep invisible? Why not prepare all your changes but not implement them until you're ready to go visible?
  • Match will auto unhide your profile
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, June 20 2014 @ 09:23 AM
he had his own reasons. not really anyone's business why. this was really also my issue. i hid my profile and have been gone for over a year to go back in it and find my profile actually visible. shady seems to be the name of the game that's for sure. there is no honor in anything any more. nowdays it seems like everything is done to maximize some sort of benefit to the company with disregard to clients/customers' needs. the consumer market is not for consumers any more. we have to scrimp and beg for ANY service let alone good service. we are having to deal with crap and shadiness of this sort it seems like all the time. what a shame.
  • Match.com
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, September 07 2012 @ 11:03 AM
Did you know this dating site just bought DateHookup. I wonder why since I found DateHookup not to be very good. IMO Match.com is really the only site that is worth joining. You least have a chance of meeting someone that is marriage material. The guy above is right about messaging girls who have viewed your profile. it was the only way I got any replies.
  • Match.com review
  • Authored by:Jager on Thursday, August 30 2012 @ 08:16 PM
Out of all the dating sites I have tried Match.com seems to be the best. It is not perfect but I have met more people here than eHarmony, POF and Okcupid. Online dating is definitely a women's world but I find it works out for us men to if we just date smarter. Look to see who has viewed your profile and write personal messages that mention something in the woman's profile and not just one message that you spam to all your matches. Just my thoughts.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Tuesday, February 16 2010 @ 05:15 AM

It's even more superficial than the bar. You need 2 things to be a successful male on Match (other than looks): An important sounding white collar job title. A matching income. I've known several women who swear by the site (who convicned me to do it), and judging from their match.com found boyfriends, it's not so much about finding someone you connect with, as much throwing darts and trying to hit the guy that best offers some sort of upper middle class yuppie lifestyle for you to jump up to. A certain friend of mine just happened to date a string of lawyers... what a coincidence! I've had much more luck at bars or just everyday life than match.com, it's not worth the effort unless you spout that generic "i'm a successful white guy" kind of stuff on your profile. Go to the mall, grocery store, anywhere and just say hi to someone. It's amazing how you can actually interact with people when you aren't being pre-judged on paper!

I'm going to puke if I read another woman's profile that says she wants a guy that can make her laugh. Then there's always the obligatory pic of them at a baseball or football game with a beer, just to let the guys know they can keep up!

  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, December 01 2012 @ 01:33 AM

 I very much suspect your sour attitude came through loud and clear on your profile.....which is why you had such poor 'luck'.  You've got to be likeable.....no one wants to hang with a downer.

  • Truth about Match.com
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Tuesday, February 04 2014 @ 03:57 PM
This poster made the best statement: "(other than looks)". I had been a member of match for 3 months. In my profile I had made it clear I was looking for a long term thing. None of the women who contacted me wanted that. But they all liked the fact that I have a good job and disposable income. I did not see a sourness in the post rather a realization of the facts.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:HTHROB on Friday, February 05 2010 @ 08:31 AM

I SIGHNED UP WITH MATCH.COM.I DONE ALL THE QUESTIONS AND SAID A FEW SENTENCES ABOUT MYSELF,LIKES,DISLIKES ETC.TO THERE CREDIT THEY HAVE MAILED ME SOME STUNNERS IN ABERDEEN AREA..UR BOTH VERY DIFFERENT BUT PHOTOS ARE STUNNING?ANYWAY I CNT GET TO E.MAIL THEM SO THIS SITE IN MY VIEW IS LIKE A FARCE!

  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, December 01 2012 @ 01:30 AM
I have not experienced that with Match. The emails are delivered and received quickly. How fast the other person responds may be a different issue.
  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, January 30 2010 @ 02:15 PM

This site is extremely slow.  They "read" your emails for your protection.  It can take up to 24 hours to receive an email back!!!!  I'd like quicker response......

  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, December 01 2012 @ 01:35 AM

 I have not experienced this delay.....  Could it be your service provider?

  • Match is shady...
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Tuesday, January 12 2010 @ 09:00 PM

 Review coming from a male. I'm skeptical about match. Was a member for a year. Paid 3 month plans and a 6 month. Took a break between payments because I started getting skeptical. I think they were sending me emails of "fake" accounts to lure me in so that I would register from my free account whenever I wasn't on a pay plan. I would get 1 or 2 winks every few weeks. (This after being a member for many months with no winks or emails). So I was thinking... "Oh... I got a wink finally? But I have to re-register to see who winked at me." So then, I would renew subscription, and the profile did not exist. Then I would get random winks, and then the profiles didn't seem legit and would the accounts would be cancelled. Another thing that was annoying was their filtering method. I am very open to dating other races. However, match sends emails of women who have no interest in other races. So say I get an email with 12 referrals. You think, "oh cool! Someone might be the one!" Everything looks good... you scroll down more and more... and they just want a white guy. So you email the recommendation anyway, and you won't hear anything back, or you get a nasty message from the girl saying stuff like "Didn't you see my profile? I'm only into (insert race here) guys" Then I look like the idiot who can't read or doesn't care to pay attention. So my beef is... 98% of my emailed referrals that match THINKS I should have, only want white guys. I'm not white! So then I'd have to search for girls who like guys like my race. You can't search for girls specifically looking for your race. Now I know everyone tries to be politically correct and non-discriminatory. But... if a girl isn't looking for let's say... an Indian or Hispanic, then don't send me emails to recommend those girls if I am Indian or Hispanic! Also, you get random single sentence emails saying hi. You respond with a simple "Hi! How are you?"... and then never hear from that person again. (Usually happens with the really hot ones) But their account is still active. Does match make fake automated profiles to keep singles interested enough to keep subscribing? Another lame thing about match... after 30 days, you have NO clue if you had winked at someone already or sent an email to them. So, instead of match saying something like "You already tried to contact or say hi to this person... they don't like you..." Let's say after 7-8 months... you forget you wrote that woman because they changed up their profile a bit or pictures"... and you contact again.. you become the jackass who is just looking for tail online. So then... match charges you EXTRA to see if your email has been read. Great... you have to pay to see if a woman is ignoring you because they are too nice of a person to have to reject you or have the decency to tell you they aren't interested. Also, try getting a hold of their technical staff or provide feedback. And get a copy and pasted robotic email that has nothing to do about answering your question instead. Now I quit match paid subscription, but I left my profile up... and removed my pictures. So I am running off a free account, I get winks all the time. Are they fake? Most annoying thing... I setup an email specifically for billing purposes 5 years ago. Never had a spam problem. The week I register for match (because it involves money) I have an average of 40 spam a week now... Hmmm.... is it coincidence or did match sell my email address? Now I have to setup a new billing email because my previous email turned into a spam-AOL-like account. I really wish I spent my subscription money taking a friend out to a nice plutonic dinner or something instead. At least I could have gotten a great dinner out of it. Very disappointed in match. 1 year, I did go out on 1 date, the girls was great. Gorgeous But didn't work out ultimately romantically. Still friends though.   I would never recommend a single friend to join. 

  • 2 problems I encountered
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Friday, January 08 2010 @ 01:54 AM

I am a man who belonged to Match for six months last year and had no luck with it. There are two main problems I encountered. First, the items the site uses to match people are superficial and unilluminating about a person. I often encountered women to whom the site matched me on more than 20 (of 24 possible) items, yet with whom it would have been obvious to a total stranger that I was nothing like in terms of personality, worldview, etc. Second, I found that the only women interested in me were in my area; unfortunately, I was not interested in any of them. I think what is going on here is that many people are signing up in order to meet people in their area. If you happen not to live in a large city, however, the pool of interesting people can be quite small. If people are not willing to have long-distance relationships, then you may find yourself severely limited by your location. I cannot recommend Match on the basis of my experience.

  • Match Review (Match.com)
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Sunday, December 27 2009 @ 08:05 PM
I have been on Match for a very short time but it hasnt been all that bad. I try to look at things from a certain perspective, I mean, how many people are you going to meet that you could truly pursue something with? Not many, of course there will be people you will not be compatible with and yes, there will be liars. I am just hoping to meet one person that I can hang out with and enjoy, I am willing to go through the bad, it comes with the territory and is to be expected. Also, you shouldnt expect it to be easy, its like a job search, you have to make yourself noticeable and also you have to look for the right fit. There are millions of users on Match, just like there are billions of people, they cant ALL be bad. I receive a lot of communications, but I have yet to meet someone that I feel I could have something with, and yet, I am cautiously optimistic. You have to be if you are going to choose this route. My advise: if you choose to join, really join, actually try, and dont quit just because you havent met the man/woman of your dreams in a couple weeks. It takes work to get to know someone, be willing to do that and maybe, someone else will be willing to so the same for you in return. PS: That guy above that gave a step by step of how to do it, was right on.

  • dating sites!!
  • Authored by:Anonymous on Saturday, December 26 2009 @ 02:38 PM
Be very very careful!! As Elmer Fudd Says!! All are out for your money!! Stay away from Yahoo personals, full of fake profiles & scammers. Plentyfish is crap!!
Eharmony is also crap!! Pays to review any site your interested in, before paying!! Just Google the name of site & type in review at the end. Then read!!
Nearly all sites get bad comments!! My advice!! Go back to the bar scene, put the beer goggles on & at least you see what trouble your getting into!!
Cheers!!
First | Previous | 1 23| Next | Last